Corporate Governance


   

Principles

The Board acknowledges its responsibility for and commitment to corporate governance principles and recognises that the Authority’s stakeholders expect the highest standards of performance, accountability and conduct.


Hospital Authority Board

Under the Hospital Authority Ordinance, the Chief Executive of the HKSAR appoints members to the Authority Board. The present Board consists of 26 members (including the Chairman). Membership of the Authority comprises 22 non-public officers, three public officers and one principal officer (the Hospital Authority Chief Executive). Apart from the principal officer, other members are not remunerated in the capacity as Board members.

The Authority Board meets formally about 12 times a year and any other times as required.


Hospital Authority Board Meeting
Administrative and Operational Meeting


Top


Board Committees

For optimal performance of its roles and exercise of powers, the Authority Board has established 12 functional committees : Audit and Risk Committee, Development and Works Committee, Executive Committee, Emergency Executive Committee, Finance Committee, Human Resources Committee, Information Technology Services Committee, Main Tender Board, Medical Services Development Committee, Public Complaints Committee, Staff Appeals Committee and Supporting Services Development Committee.



Top


Hospital Governing Committees

To enhance community participation and governance of public hospitals, 33 Hospital Governing Committees are established in 41 hospitals/institutions in accordance with the Hospital Authority Ordinance.

These committees receive regular management reports from Hospital Chief Executives, monitor operational and financial performance of the hospitals, review risk management issues, provide policy guidance on hospital management, and participate in human resources and procurement functions, as well as hospital and community partnership activities. Normally, a Hospital Governing Committee holds about 4 meetings in a year.



Top


Regional Advisory Committees

To provide the Authority with advice on the healthcare needs for specific regions of Hong Kong and assist the Authority with better performance of its functions in relation to the regions, the Authority has established three Regional Advisory Committees in accordance with the Hospital Authority Ordinance.

Normally, a Regional Advisory Committee meets four times a year.


  Top



Hospital Authority Board
Regional Advisory
Committees
Hong Kong Regional Advisory Committee
Kowloon Regional Advisory Committee
New Territories Regional Advisory Committee
Hospital Governing
Committees
33 Hospital
Governing Committees
Committees
Audit and Risk Committee Information Technology Services Committee
Development and Works Committee Main Tender Board
Executive Committee Medical Services Development Committee
Emergency Executive Committee Public Complaints Committee
Finance Committee Staff Appeals Committee
Human Resources Committee Supporting Services Development Committee



Top


Executive Management

The executives are charged by the Hospital Authority Board with the responsibility to manage and administer day-to-day business and operations of the Authority. To ensure that the management can discharge duties in an effective and efficient manner, the Hospital Authority Board has set out clear delegated authority, policies and codes of conduct. The Board also approves an annual plan prepared by the executives in accordance with the Board’s direction and receives regular executive reports on the progress of agreed performance indicators and targets.

Under the Hospital Authority Ordinance, the Authority determines the remuneration and terms and conditions of employment for all Hospital Authority employees. Remuneration packages of executive directors and other senior managers are devised to attract, motivate and retain high calibre individuals in a competitive talent market. Remuneration packages of all senior executives are considered and approved by the Authority Board or its Executive Committee.

機構管治


   

原則

醫管局大會明白不同持份者期望醫管局在工作表現、問責性及道德操守方面達至最高標準,並確認其奉行的機構管治責任與承諾。


醫院管理局大會

根據《醫院管理局條例》,醫管局大會成員由香港特別行政區行政長官任命。現時,大會有成員26名(包括主席)。成員中22名為非公務員、三名為公務員、一名為主要行政人員(醫管局行政總裁)。除該行政人員外,其他成員均沒有因成員的身份而領取任何薪酬。

大會每年約召開12次正式會議,如有需要會召開特別會議。


醫管局大會
內務會議


頁首


大會轄下的委員會

為協助大會有效發揮其角色及行使職權,大會成立了11個專責委員會,包括 審計及風險管理委員會行政委員會緊急應變策導委員會財務委員會人力資源委員會資訊科技服務委員會中央投標委員會醫療服務發展委員會公眾投訴委員會職員上訴委員會支援服務發展委員會



頁首


醫院管治委員會

為促進社區參與及加強公立醫院管治,醫管局按《醫院管理局條例》就轄下41間醫院/機構成立了33個醫院管治委員會

各醫院管治委員會審閱醫院行政總監的定期管理報告、監察醫院在運作和財務方面的表現、審視風險管理事宜、指導醫院管理政策,以及參與人力資源及採購工作,和醫院及社區的夥伴協作活動。每個醫院管治委員會每年約召開4次會議。



頁首


區域諮詢委員會

為聽取地區對醫院服務需要的意見及協助醫管局在有關區域的事情上更有效地執行其職能,醫管局根據《醫院管理局條例》成立了三個區域諮詢委員會

每個區域諮詢委員會每年約召開四次會議。



頁首


醫院管理局大會
區域諮詢委員會
港島區域諮詢委員會
九龍區域諮詢委員會
新界區域諮詢委員會
醫院管治委員會
33 醫院管治委員會
委員會
審計及風險管理
委員會
財務委員會
人力資源委員會 資訊科技服務
委員會
醫療服務發展委員會 支援服務發展委員會
公眾投訴委員會 職員上訴委員會
行政委員會 緊急應變策導
委員會
中央投標委員會  



頁首


行政管理

醫管局行政人員獲醫管局大會授權管理及執行醫管局的日常業務及運作。為確保管理層可快捷有效地履行其職責,大會已清楚列出授予權力、政策及操守準則。大會每年批核由行政人員根據大會所立方針制訂的工作計劃。行政人員亦定期向大會提交進度報告,包括議定的表現目標及工作目標進度。

根據《醫院管理局條例》,醫管局可釐定轄下所有僱員的薪酬及服務條件。為行政總監及其他高級管理人員而釐定的薪酬條件,務求能在競爭激烈的人力市場中,吸引、激勵及挽留高質素人才。所有高級行政人員的薪酬,均由醫管局大會的行政委員會按個別情況考慮及審批。