In accordance with the Government’s policy direction to promote the development of “evidence-based” Chinese medicine (CM) and out-patient CM services in the public sector, as well as to provide training placements for local CM degree programme graduates, the Hospital Authority (HA) was tasked to establish a total of 18 Chinese Medicine Centres for Training and Research (CMCTRs) in each of the 18 districts since 2003. The 18 CMCTRs all operate on a tripartite collaboration model involving the HA, a non-governmental organisation (NGO) and a local university, and the NGOs are the operator of the CMCTRs. The 18th CMCTR in Islands District has commenced operation in July 2014, and the target of establishing one CMCTR in each of the 18 district was completed to serve the general public. Since Financial Year 2013/14, the tripartite CMCTRs served over 1 million patient attendances annually.
In 2013 Policy Address, the Government set up the Chinese Medicine Development Committee to study on policies including promoting treatment with integrated Chinese and Western Medicine and introducing Chinese Medicine in-patient services. In 2014 Policy Address, the Government has reserved a site to develop a Chinese Medicine hospital to provide Chinese Medicine in-patient services. To help the Government gather experiences in the operation of integrated Chinese-Western medicine (ICWM) and Chinese Medicine in-patient services, the HA has been tasked by the Government to carry out an ICWM pilot project (pilot project). Phase I of the pilot project provides ICWM treatment for HA in-patients of selective disease areas, namely stroke care, cancer palliative care and acute low back pain care implemented at Tung Wah Hospital, Tuen Mun Hospital and Pamela Youde Nethersole Eastern Hospital respectively. Four more hospitals - Prince of Wales Hospital, Shatin Hospital, Kwong Wah Hospital and Princess Margaret Hospital – joined Phase II of the ICWM Pilot Programme in December 2015 to offer stroke care, acute low back pain care and cancer palliative care respectively, bringing the number of hospitals participating in the ICWM Pilot Programme to seven in total.
Last update: 2016.12.01